Rosedale Panorama, North Yorkshire Moors
Site Navigation
Home
Internet Services
Order Form
Contact Details
About Us
Portfolio
Testimonials
Support & Setup
Legal
News & Press
 · Press Releases
 · News Archive
 · Security News
 · News Feeds
 · General News
 · Migration News
External Links
Videos
Control Panels

Information
Webmail
Mail Admin
Database Admin
Customer Login


Security News
16/07/2007: Domain Registry of America Scam

It has come to our attention that a number of our clients are receiving domain renewal notices from this company. The letter is worded such that it appears as if you will lose your domain if you do not renew with them urgently.

This is a scam and they are trying to get your domain transferred across to their services. You do not need to do anything, simply ignore their notice.

We maintain all domains in the background without any intervention from our clients (except for those on managed DNS only). We also only use specific registries:

  • .uk : We are full members of Nominet and all .uk domains are registered directly.
  • .com/.net/.org/.info etc : All registered through Tucows.
  • .uk.com/.gb.com etc : All registered directly with the registry CentralNIC.
  • .ie : All registered via our reseller account with Blacknight in Ireland.

09/09/2009 Update: This scam continues incessantly and they are now also calling themselves "Domain Renewal Group" but the letter format is almost identical.

If you are a client and have any questions regarding this, please do not hesitate to contact us.


References:

Google search for results regarding this scam
Domain Registry of America web site (www.droa.com)
Domain Renewal Group web site (www.domainrenewalgroup.com)


Sample Document:

Hint: when your browser opens the new window with the image, it is likely that because of the size of these scans it will resize the image to fit the window. In Firefox click on the image to magnify. In Internet Explorer, hover over the image with your mouse for a few seconds then click on the Expand button that appears (orange image with four blue arrows).

Sample Letter - Front (250KB)
Sample Letter - Back - Fine Print - unreadable! (317KB)
Sample Letter - Back - Fine Print - close up (1MB)


Wind Powered Web Site! Hosting by EcologicalHosting.com Valid HTML 4.01! Valid CSS! Copyright 1999-2010 Athenaeum Limited (Registered Number 03800266 England)
Order Form | Prices | Email Form | Telephone: +44 (0)8456 434 091